Clumsyfingers

My First Giveaway Post

Posted on: August 24, 2010

One of the coolest thing among all the cool thing about bento making is the giveaways that the bento community seems to be really generous about. And since am also a bento-ist, I would like to join in the gift giving spirit! Guess the gift? Yup, its about bento and am giving away one of the coolest bento book of the year, Yum Yum Bento Box – Fresh Recipes for Adorable Lunches by Crystal “Pikko” Watanabe  and Maki Ogawa (http://www.yumyumbento.com/)!

This is the very first bento book that I’ve purchased and love the graphics and ideas by Pikko. My daughter loves it too and it sort of became one of her bedtime “story book”. She loves the pink sheep one a lot and she wants me read to her almost every night and we’ll sing “baa baa pink sheep have you any wool…la la la”.This book is really great to get some inspiration when you have “bento” block which happens once in awhile.

Actually, I bought this book and just recently, my sister in law bought me the same book in Bahamas and couriered it back to surprise me coz she knew I was into bento making. When I received it I was totally surprised and happy but since I already have it, I would like to give it away to other bento-ist out there. My SIL has given her consent and so here I am sharing the love! 😀

Since this is my very first giveaway, I ain’t equip with the skills in using the random automatic number generator that other bento maestro use so I will be getting my little girl to draw out the number. Also I don’t think I’ll have that many numbers to draw since my blog is really new but I am so excited already! 😀 Okay here’s how to enter the giveaway, I would like to know what is the best thing about bento making that attracted you to it and please kindly post a picture/link to the picture of your very first bento. I hope it would be a kind of memory lane experience when you can think back to your first bento and how you started this journey. 😀

I will be traveling quite a bit in the next two to three weeks so I will want to conclude the draw before I go MIA. Hence, the last day for submission is 31st August 2010. Please kindly provide to me your email address too so that I could contact you if you are the lucky one! Let’s get the ball rolling!

14 Responses to "My First Giveaway Post"

I just recently discovered bento and your blog I’d love to learn more because it looks like such cute fun Thanks for the giveaway and hope that I have a chance to win
tanyainjville@yahoo.com

My children got me interested in bento making. They are both into anime and manga so this was an extention of that. I personally decided to go for it because I was being given an opportunity to make nutritious meals for my daughter and make things interesting enough that she may try new things. This year she is considering trying fish! That is a huge thing for her. Also, I am going to try to stretch my creativity a little more this year. I have posted well over a hundred bento since this first one.

http://bit.ly/9EYoY5 link to my photo.

I am not sure you can see my email, it is: alcinoe@gmail.com

Seems that your blog is picking up Mummy! Good work on the bento. Now, where’s the giveaway? I want I want I want I want I want I want I want I want I want I want I want!!!!!

hi xelia, i was looking for hello kitty moulds for mooncakes, exactly a year ago! and that accidentally lead me to the charaben world. i am so amused at my first ever charaben bento. you will too!
http://anna2003.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/bento-1/

cheers/karen

Hi xelia!
I can’t deny the cuteness of bento-making draw me to it… but the last push to start making them myself was when I noticed that my meals consisted basically of carbs and proteins.

As a working girl myself, I thought cooking a bento daily would be exhausting. And it is! But cooking for my family and being sure they are getting a balanced meal, definitely worth it :D.

Must of my bento are not as cute as yours :$ and frankly I’ve just started, but creating balanced meals makes me happy 🙂
Not much nostalgia for a Bento I made last week XD but here it is!
http://tinyurl.com/2b5zam2

I don’t have a picture of my first bento, but what drew me to it was a fun way to encourage my daughter to eat good and varied foods.

[…] to win a copy of Yum-Yum Bento? Xelia is running a giveaway until 31st of August – pop on over […]

That is so kind of you to host this giveaway! That book is in my wish list since it is out! 😀
I love bento-ing simply because it encourages especially my elder son to try more variety of food, and he takes part in deciding his bento, which in a way I can teach him about nutritious food. My first ever bento is this one http://www.kidsdreamwork.com/2009/10/09/testing/ which I’m sure you will faint looking at it! Oh well that is provided if I can call it a bento at all or just a lunch box full of character sandwiches! 😀

– AiPing

i grew up with bento-hybrids being from singapore and didn’t realized how relevant it is for watching portions and introducing variety to children until i became a mom myself.

from an aesthetic-perspective, it just looks so neat and pretty! :o)

thanks for the giveaway!

grace[at!]gracehesterdesigns[dot!]com

A friend asked me, if we would try the bento challenge at just bento and show ourselves the pictures. It was fun and yummy and changing back to salami sandwiches for a couple of days was so disappointing.

I didn’t even have a real box for my first bentos, but I think it looks ok for a first try.
http://img35.imageshack.us/i/201001151.jpg/

No bento pic to share just here to say…Woo hoo! for your new blogging venture about bento! Found your post on my FoodLoversWeb.com Daily (http://paper.li/foodloversweb). Plus I gotta share a great bento club on Facebook that you might want to check out 😉 (http://www.facebook.com/kawaiibentoclub). Have a great rest of the day.

Hi Correen, I am already a fan of your club! I am glad to have found it and joined it immediately. Thank you thank you.

[…] I finally made my first in-flight bento!! This idea was inspired by Hapabento who had been making really scrumptious in-flight bento meals for her parting guests. I made mine for my SIL who was to board a 24 hours flight back to New York. She had requested for one before she came home to visit and I’ve also wanted to do one for her to thank her for the support she gave in my bento making hobby. She bought me the Yum Yum Bento Box – Fresh Recipes for Adorable Lunches by Crystal “Pikko” Watanabe  and Maki Ogawa and because I bought the same book she kindly allowed me to give it away in my first bento contest. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweets

