Clumsyfingers

Box Bento?

Posted on: August 5, 2010

Have not been able to make any bento for the past days as had training at the office and its a rush in the morning trying to arrive at training on time. So I’m now back in gear and shall endeavor to make them today and tomorrow especially so that I’ve got new gears!!

This morning planned to make some “snails” from the “loh mai kai” that my MIL bought from her hometown in Ipoh but after the steaming, the rounded shape of the “loh mai kai” went haywire. Besides did not realise that the “loh mai kai” was too big for the new bento boxes that I wanted to use this morning. Sigh…ill make the snails tomorrow instead. So here are the two breakfast bento that i made this morning!

Hubby’s

Mine

Don’t you just love the boxes! Had always wanted them when I saw them in other bento blogs and online retail sites and now I have them!! Guess I’ll be using them quite a bit. Haha

Anyway, in both the boxes there’s of course the “loh mai kai”. For those who don’t know its actually a dish commonly served when having dim sum. It’s steamed glutinous rice with chicken, charsiew and shitake mushroom. It’s really yummy. This “loh mai kai” version even had a quarter hard boiled egg but can’t be seen in the picture but hidden inside. I cut a slice of ham into bus and heart shapes decorated with cheese for contrast on top of the rice. The sides include zucchini with sesame, red cherries and a little mangosteen with a new leave pick that’s part of my new bento gears. πŸ˜€

I tried this morning to improve the picture taking skill but hmm..seems not much of a difference. My brother who’s in professional photography told me to put a nice cloth, preferably white or pastel colours but I didn’t have any. Actually I used my cushion cover for these pictures. Haha. Will need to consult him again.

4 Responses to "Box Bento?"

Yummy, it sounds delish! I love your new boxes, so cute πŸ™‚

Super cute bento boxes! They look yummy too! πŸ™‚

I LOVE loh mai kai!

Unfortunately I found out that it is more of a SE Asian specialty; dim sum restaurants everywhere else in the world seems to just serve lor mai farn, which is wrapped in lotus leaves but nothing compares to tipping the tin bowl over a plate and watching it slide out, with a mushroom, piece of chicken & lap cheung slipping out on the plate πŸ™‚

And love the boxes by the way…where did you find them? I’ve been looking for the double leaves pick without success :(.

I bought the boxes and picks from http://www.bentrocraft.com. Very good service! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

