Clumsyfingers

Smudgy Musical Pigs

Posted on: July 19, 2010

This morning I had a special request from my MIL. It’s her colleague’s birthday today and she asked if I could make her a cute bento to bring as a present. Of course I willingly and happily agreed to it. This morning’s bento was inspired by Yum-Yum Bento Box: Fresh Recipes for Adorable Lunches.(http://www.yumyumbento.com/) I made the mini piggy hamburger 😀 Of course mine was not as pretty and kawaii as the one featured in the book. Am still learning.

Anyway, I made the beef patties the night before. Mixed minced beef with some garlic and carrots and pan fried them. They were delicious and this is all thanks to Sheri of Happy Little Bento (http://happylittlebento.blogspot.com/). Am really thankful to have all of these kind mistress of bento that had provided loads of guidance and inspiration in my bento adventures. Again, I hope to learn more from all of them!

This morning I woke up a 6am, toasted the mini buns, steamed the corn and warmed up the patties. Then it was assembly time. Realised that I didn’t have any ham for the piggy features so had to resort to my cheddar cheese which turned out alright but not as “define”. Will attempt again and make sure I have ready stock. And I missed one step during the making that is to melt the butter before spreading on the bun to stick the nori and so here we have the smudged piggy. Held the pieces together with the biggest longest pick that I have which were gifts from Carmen of Bentocraft (http://bentocraft.com).  Here are my piggies:-

The picture is kind of orange-y and the details are not so clear. And yes, there are 4 boxes this morning. Made one for MIL, one for MIL’s friend, one for a colleague who had kindly requested for it and one surely for myself. The rest of the bentos were made up of sweet corn, sugar apricot, grapes and slices of oranges. I put in a few green macha beans that I got from the Hokkaido fair at Isetan. These beans are sweet with some milky macha on the outside and crunchy on the inside. Love them!

1 Response to "Smudgy Musical Pigs"

Wow, excellent job! You’ve made lots of people so happy with these cute piggies! So happy to have helped!! Thank you for the shoutout!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweets

