Clumsyfingers

My First Onigiris!

Posted on: July 29, 2010

I remembered posting that I won’t be able to make that many bento this week because the schedule for the week is quite pack at work. But miraculously, I think I’ve made more bentos this week than the previous weeks. :D

I was inspired by Lia Chen of Bentolicious (http://www.mybentolicious.com/) onigiri post yesterday and the day before. Love her ideas and all her creativitiy in bento making. Don’t know when I’ll be able to get to her master level! Anyway, I tweet-ed yesterday that if I can wake up early this morning I shall try my hands on making onigiri. And surely enough, I woke up early and made these bentos. One for hubs and one for myself, of course!

Hubby’s Box

Mummy’s Box

I cooked the rice the night before because I was afraid that if I cook it this morning it will be too hot to handle. I used a three shaped onigiri tool that I bought from Daiso (http://www.daiso-sangyo.co.jp/english/). There’s the heart, teddy bear and star shape. I filled the onigiri with tuna mayo and decorated with cheese, nori and some dashes of sakura denbu for colour. I actually tried making some crabby sausages with the cutter too but the effect was not there. This is the 2nd time I tried using the cutter and still failed to get the crab. Sigh. Don’t know if it’s because I boiled the sausages and didn’t pan fry it.

Besides the onigiri, there are some mangosteen, dragon fruit, cherry tomatoes, sugar apricot and some cucumbers. Mine has a little bit of extra dried cranberries and raisins in replacement of the not so “crabby” sausages. :D

Looked at mine and looked at Lia’s, mine is still far from perfect like hers. Sigh. But once again, I shall continue to persevere!!!

2 Responses to "My First Onigiris!"

You are doing great! That bear onigiri is so cute and well decorated. Sakura denbu is nice to add the color and love mangosteen … cooling fruit it’s great! You will be a bento master in no time :D

Lovely job! Nice and cute bento :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

