Clumsyfingers

Archive for July 1st, 2010

It’s my lunch hour now and since had a very filling breakfast am going to use this time to load the rest of the bentos that I’ve made earlier. The first one is made with some multi-grain crackers which my MIL took from a buffet counter during our dinner. Haha! It’s really yummy and the good thing is it fit nicely into the Pooh Pooh two tier bento box which I bought from HK Disneyland last year. I made a little gingerbread man to put on top and he has a heart made from nori. Had loads of fun punching out nori from the little punchers I bought from Daiso. So there’s the four little tulip at the bottom of his feet. Didn’t have any facial puncher so if you look closely at the his eyes, one is bigger because I crumpled up a small nori to match the other small one. Haha! The fruit tier is really yummy coz of the sweet sweet persimmons, kiwi and oranges and the dried raisin in the fruit cup really complement the cheese and cracker very well!

This two brekkie were inspired by Susan Yuen (http://susanyuen.wordpress.com/). She’s a really cool bento master and she has written two bento books which I’m dying to get my hands on!

Both bentos were made up of the same thing except that they had different decos. The top is certainly for hubs with a sail boat made of cheese. And the bottom is a musical Hello Kitty. Somehow my Kitty don’t really look like the real Hello Kitty and my colleague said its probably because the eyes are too near each other. Hmm…Shall try to put them further apart next time and see if it’s true. :D The bentos are filled up with grapes and oranges. Oh and if you wonder, I didn’t have to cut the bread into rounds because I accidentally stumbled upon a stone oven bakery that made these really gorgeous log bread! Saved me some time!

This next bento was made in split seconds if I may say so. Coz it was just assembly time needed! Haha! Bought this really kawaii sugar laden yummy doughnuts from Big Apple for as desserts for my guests the night before and there were some left over. Yes, these are doughnuts! They are known as Donashi! So here it goes into my breakfast bento. I also had really sour sour sour raspberries (Which I didn’t eat at the end but made it into juice the end of the day), jackfruits as well as Korean pear. Satisfying!!!

Besides the Rainbow Lollipop Bento, I made this for my hubs also. He don’t like anything kawaii coz he’s embarassed to be seen around with kawaii stuff . :( But I just can’t help it but to put in three little carrot crabs! Haha

The bagel filling is chicken mayo with alfafa sprouts and dried cranberries. I think I want to have that for my brekkie tomorrow but would want it to be cuter! :) Can’t think of what to do yet but hope to have the time to make it. And as usual there are some grapes, tomatoes and three slices of oranges.

My photographer brother took really nice shots of my little girl holding two humongous lollipop and it was the inspiration for today’s bento. This bento took me the most effort. For the first time I drew out the picture of how the lollipop shall be made and it was fun drawing on my little girl’s Crayola white board and using her colourful crayons. So there will be a little bit more pictures in this post and again the quality of these may differ because I used both my phone camera as well as a normal compact camera. The first picture is the drawing I made on the white board and the second is a picture of my little girl and her lollipops that inspired this bento.

This bento brought me lots of joys as well as some pain. Joys because I think it’s a pretty bento and it reminds me of my little girl’s jolly face with holding the two colourful lollis. Pain because I spend two hours from planning to making it and the worst pain was when my hubs said that the lollipop ain’t that pretty and I am not creative enough. This last part really hurts because I spend a lot of time and dedication in making it. I’ve read many other bento bloggers’ post on how their other half truly and really support their passion for bento making and I felt really sorry for myself that mine don’t. But again, I vow that I shall continue to persevere and coz I love bento making!

Besides the lollipops, I’ve also been inspired to make this bento because Bento Summer School’s assignment for the week is Rainbow and when I saw the lollis I thought this is it! I can make a rainbow lolli for my first assignment for Bento Summer School.  And here is my rainbow bento!

Pretty or not?! The lolli is made from carrot, purple sweet potato, corn, crab stick and cucumber. There are only 6 colours instead of 7 like the rainbow because don’t know how to make indigo! All the colours are natural except for the blue coz really could not find any natural blue colour at this last moment. Could not find clitora flowers that can make the natural blue so have to resort to artificial blue. :( Bought some sakura denbu and the pink is to create the jolly and pretty feel.

This bento is for breakfast though for the first time I’m having rice bento for brekkie. But in Malaysia, this is Nasi Lemak! Beneath the rice is japanese curry and I’ve got a hard boiled egg and some roasted peanuts. All these combined made a really yummy brekkie! Last but not least had my usual portion of vitamin laden fruits – grapes, yellow watermelon, oranges and two cherry tomatoes.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.